Wendy The Wanderer

Stories Of My Life

Food bank day

on August 14, 2013

image

I got orange juice, 2 cans of mixed fruit, 2 cans corn, 2 cans pears, 2 cans tomato soup, 2 cans tuna, 1 can Spam, package of egg noodles, 2 lbs dates and a bag of dried garbanzo beans…plus a dozen medium eggs I already put in the fridge.

image

I also got 5 plums, but they are rotten. Perhaps I can save a bit for smoothies.

There are two food bank programs that are delivered here to the apartment building. One is labeled “state”, the other “federal”. There are totally different foods in each box. I get the state box. These boxes are considered the supplement for a month. Each month that I have lived here, they have gotten smaller and smaller. That’s because there are fewer donations. The need has increased exponentially from so much unemployment and an increase in seniors.

If you are a person with some food or money to spare, I encourage you to donate to your local food bank or pantry. I sat there for awhile this morning and watched a few people on the verge of tears, with quavery voices, find out they didn’t get much…or worse, a few people weren’t on the list even though they had applied. My friend, Buster, was sitting next to the free table, filling a box from other people’s unwanted food from their share….it was for an old woman so thin that you can practically see through…who didn’t get any food.

And speaking of tears, I cried like a baby when my nurse pushed down on my belly to get the plastic to seal tight. He was surprised because I have never cried in front of him. He thinks of me as stoic. Ha!

My bladder, female parts, intestines, belly wound hurt like crazy. It wakes me up. It’s a strange kind of hurt. The nurse thinks it’s my nerve endings growing back. I am not convinced. Yesterday I had a fever of 99° and felt like death warmed over for awhile.

You know what else I did yesterday????? I sat and talked to one of my neighbors for 6 or 7 hours!!! Wow. She was talking to me out in the hallway and I invited her in. All those hours seemed like a short time. I told her we were in a vortex. Yup…must have been some sort of time warp vortex…no other explanation for it :-)

4 responses to “Food bank day

  1. ackermari says:

    Is there a reason why you don’t also get the federal box?

    • People only get one or the other, not both. I am guessing it has to do with age? I think older seniors get federal and young people like me at 57 get the state….but I am not absolutely sure about that. A food bank man came to my apartment to interview me last year, and that’s what he assigned me. Each apartment gets the same amount, no matter if it’s a single or couple.

  2. momcat727 says:

    Wendy in my part of FL as far as I know there are very few food banks, The one I used to be able to get had really nice food at first-mostly from Publix (even good muffins and bread..i know sweets and carbs right!!But it was I treat I enjoyed) Oh yes and they also gave out a lot of candy but also vegetables, salads ,fruits, ect.. People could go once a month then the economy really tanked and it was so crowded and on a bad road with no where to park that was safe. I no longer had anyone to help me get there so I stopped going. I don’t know what it is like now-!i am sure its much worse . I don’t really have any friends here any more they have all passed away(most of the young in 50s) or moved outa fl. like I wish I could! I used to look at your pics of Up State NY and dream.. I wish you well. Hope you can get better soon and move closer to your daughter! Keeping you in my thoughts always, Valerie

    • I absolutely LOVE having the food bank deliver here! It’s hard to drag back food with my power chair. There are food pantries here they I could go to. I bet the lines are very long! I miss VT and the Adirondacks in summer…but not the winter. It’s too bad VT is so expensive to live in, and too bad the Adirondacks had doctors unwilling to treat me. I wish there was THE PERFECT PLACE where I could go live. I miss Florida in the winter :-)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 196 other followers

