Tags

On a camping group we were talking about the cost of travel and food. I said I spent about $200/month on food, which prompted a few folks to ask what I eat.

I’m going to do this in several parts. On the road, what I eat is generally more predictable and less varied than when I live in a house.

I switched to eating low carb March 2010. I then quickly lost 170 pounds. It melted off effortlessly. I have not lost more weight while in the RV. Lots of reasons for that.

When I began low carb, my blood sugar was 478. Now it’s generally 80. The docs consider me cured of diabetes as long as I eat this way.

BREAKFASTS

Most often I eat a breakfast consisting of a selection that includes eggs, onion, zucchini, peppers, tomatoes, mushrooms, Ham or Bacon bits, cheese, salsa, sour cream, avocado, then seasoned with Smokehouse maple, Mesquite or Molasses Bacon. I also like Fox Pointe seasoning from Penzey’s.

My next favorite breakfast is a mix of full fat Greek yogurt, sour cream and cream. I then add in one or more Berry varieties such as strawberries, raspberries, blackberries or blueberries. To that I add a touch of Trivia and Splenda.

Every one in a while I cook up bulk breakfast sausage, stir in heavy cream and black pepper and serve over scrambled eggs.

Almost every morning I have hot chocolate. I heat up half and half or evaporated milk with water and cream. For the mix, I buy a canister of sugar free hot chocolate mix, divide it in two and fill the rest of the canister with baking cocoa, powdered milk, just a bit of Truvia and some Splenda. When I mix it in the hot liquid I also add some vanilla.

