I suddenly felt prompted to dig out my pathology report from the hysterectomy.

What looked like a foreign language back then, makes more sense now that I can think better. I discovered that the biopsy showed “Extensive Endometrial Intraepithelial Neoplasia”.

I looked that up and found….Diagnosis of EIN lesions is of clinical importance because of the increased risk of coexisting (39% of women with EIN will be diagnosed with carcinoma within one year) or future (the long term endometrial cancer risk is 45 times greater for a woman with EIN compared to one with only a benign endometrial histology) endometrial cancer.

So, when they thought they saw cancer in the biopsy and the D&C, it was because of this. The pathology report goes on to say “no evidence of invasive carcinoma”.

I was also surprised to read that I had adenomyosis. That explains years of heavy bleeding and pain!

When I was in my 30’s I had a tubal ligation after the fertility doctors diagnosed me with severe endometriosis and antiphoshpholipid antibodies. They said if I got pregnant again, I would probably die. I needed 12 blood transfusions when I had Heather 😮 The OB/GYN who did the tubal ligation said he spent half an hour breaking up all forms of endometriosis in my abdomen. Eeeeew! The link to adenomyosis says only 10% of women have both endometriosis and adenomyosis. Figures it would be me.

I am having real sharp pains where my female parts used to be. I need to go back for an exam. Sigh…. But, the upside to all the pain and trauma is that pathology showed there were, indeed weird things wrong for years. Too bad parts of me had to be killed off to prove it 😦

Geeze, I am obviously getting old and brain-challenged! It was really, really hard to sit through 2 days of LDS General Conference! It was even harder to stay focused. I truly love the talks. It’s just too much, too long for me nowadays. I am grateful that sessions are rebroadcast and that I can read talks online and in the Ensign. I feel like between all the bathroom breaks, the pain and my distractability index, I probably missed a lot. My two favorite talks today were by Dieter F Uchtdorf and D Todd Christofferson. I am especially anxious to read those talks. Olive tried to distract me from listening to Dieter F Uchtdorf.

 

