I was going to watch something in particular on TV, but watched a few minutes of Nature, instead. The voice in the background was matter of fact, with no BS. Then at some point, I looked up and there was Temple Grandin talking about animal’s feelings. She says what she means and means what she says. I don’t think she worries too much about how other people perceive her. I am sure she cares on some level, but it doesn’t change her. She is good at what she does, because she puts herself in the cow’s or other animal’s place.

It was a good TV program about animals of different species being friends. I think about friends often. Why do we want them? How do we get them? How long do we keep them? Why are some people so clingy? Why are others so aloof?  I love getting to know people. I am always trying to figure out what motivates them to do the things they do. I especially like swapping ideas and delving into intellectual or spiritual stuff. Sometimes it’s hard to find people who actually think!

I loathe meaningless banter. Went out to get my mail Tuesday and there was my tormenter, the stomper. If I had to listen to her more than 2 minutes, it would be more pleasant to commit suppuku. Nothing that comes out of her mouth is real or important. Any random dog or cat expresses more intelligence and true emotion. I am in some phase right now where that gets on my nerves more than usual! Not very nice of me, but life is too short to suffer idiots.

Any of us with pets know they have personalities, feelings, a sense of humor, empathy, love, and on and on. I cannot say that for all the people I know.

guardiancat

I was too dizzy and queasy to sit here another second, so crawled into bed. Olive and I napped for 4 hours. I woke up feeling somewhat better 🙂 I am still tired, even after sleep.

This document about myasthenia gravis was just posted on one of my groups. According to this, I would ALWAYS be in a flare and just went through MG crisis.

What is Myasthenic Crisis?

Myasthenic crisis happens when the respiratory muscles get too weak to move enough air in and out of the lungs. The patient is unable to breathe and a machine (ventilator) is needed to help breathe for the patient. The ventilator may do this through a tube into the airway (endotracheal intubation) or a tight-fitting mask on the face (Bi-PAP).

Myasthenic crisis involves only the respiratory muscles so it is different from an MG flare (exacerbation). An MG flare is worsening of some or all muscles throughout the body, not just the muscles used for breathing. MG flares vary from patient to patient but may include worsened double vision, increased arm weakness, falling, unsteady walking, difficulty swallowing and having a hard time swallowing.

Many muscles throughout the body may weaken during an MG exacerbation but myasthenic crisis refers specifically to severe, life-threatening weakness of respiratory muscles.

Certain things are known to trigger (cause) myasthenic crisis. These include:

Medications

high doses of steroids, narcotics, certain antibiotics

certain heart/blood pressure medications, general anesthesia

Illness– especially fever, pneumonia and lung infections

Choking – inhaling food/liquid into the lungs can lead to aspiration pneumonia

Stress from trauma or surgery

Stopping medications used to treat MG

Myasthenic crisis can develop slowly or quickly. It is important for patients to get medical care right away when symptoms of myasthenic crisis develop.

A patient may be admitted to the hospital with a diagnosis of myasthenic crisis even though a ventilator is not needed yet. This is because aggressive treatment is needed in order to prevent full myasthenic crisis and keep the patient breathing without a machine.

How can I tell if I am having myasthenic crisis?

Sometimes it is hard to tell if shortness of breath is due to anxiety or MG muscle weakness. Patients can do some simple assessments to check respiratory function at home. Signs that breathing function is worsening include:

Cannot lay flat in bed without feeling short of breath or gasping for air

Rapid shallow breathing (especially more than 25 breaths/minute)

Having to pause in the middle of a sentence to take a breath

Weak cough, especially when mucus/saliva cannot be cleared from the throat

The muscles between the ribs and around the neck pull in during breathing

Cannot count out loud past 20 after a full breath of air

Sweating even when the room is not too warm

Waking up frequently during the night gasping for air

Feeling restless, agitated, drowsy or confused

Breathing worsens even after taking MG medications

The chest wall moves inward instead of expanding when air is inhaled

Feeling too tired to keep breathing

PATIENTS SHOULD SEEK IMMEDIATE MEDICAL HELP WHEN FEELING SHORT

OF BREATH WITH THE WARNING SIGNS LISTED ABOVE

Important note about pulse oximeters (pulse ox)

Pulse oximeters are often used by healthcare professionals. Patients can also buy small monitors for home use. A pulse oximetry result <90% indicates that the patient’s breathing is impaired. Pulse oximetry is NOT a good test for breathing function in MG patients unless the patient has lung problems (COPD, pneumonia) along with MG.

MG patients can monitor their pulse oximetry at home BUT do not assume that breathing is OK even if pulse ox is > 95%. Use the assessments above to check respiratory function instead.

I admit, I flipped out on some nurse or tech guy who tried to put oxygen prongs in my nose while in the ER and my sats were high. I didn’t need supplemental oxygen, I needed the ABILITY to breathe! Very few people understand the difference. Sigh….and yes, sighing is an MG thing.

