I thought it was temporary, but it’s getting worse. I don’t have enough strength to blow my nose or cough deeply. It’s as if some of my abdominal muscles, especially near my diaphragm, have become disconnected. It’s not just the breathing out, it’s the breathing in, too. I am shaking all over. It feels like MG weakness teaming up with functional problems thanks to the hernia. I have to very consciously try not to panic. It feels like I am suffocating.

Of all the days, I have an appointment with the voice doctor, today. Last time I saw him, I could talk too well ๐Ÿ™‚ Now I don’t have enough strength or air to even be trying to talk. I wish this was neurologist day and not voice day!

So, I started reading my usual blogs this morning. One had a link about food stamps. It’s always the same old crap repeated over and over again. One paragraph says “Currently, a household of one can qualify for up to $194 dollars a month, or fewer than $7 dollars day, as part of SNAP, according to the Department of Agriculture. For a household of two, it’s roughly twice that. For a household of three, it’s about three times the amount.”

http://www.washingtonpost.com/blogs/wonkblog/wp/2015/04/03/missouri-republicans-are-trying-to-ban-food-stamp-recipients-from-buying-steak-and-seafood/

Notice that says UP TO $194/month for one person. I want to know how to get that much! I get $3.25/day from SNAP. And you know what else sucks? The manager says the rent is going up. I just love paying 72% of my income for rent ๐Ÿ™‚ You would think there would be more money available through SNAP when most of my income goes to subsidized senior housing. NOPE! Yet the Republicans think I am living too well and want to cut back on food stamps. How about they look at real live people like me instead of making up stories?

And, in the article it says SNAP is doubled for two? On what planet? A single person gets $733/month SSI disability. A couple gets $1100 ($550 each). As a single I get $101 SNAP. A couple gets $17/month ($8.50 each) from SNAP. I am really tired of the spin put on news stories.

I am grouchy this morning. No eggs are left. Of course, I want to eat my usual vegetable egg scramble. Tough luck. I had ramen noodles, instead. I am hoping I have enough strength to stop at a store on my way home from the voice doc. The forecast is calling for thunderstorms around that time. I soooooooo don’t even want to go! There are no curb cuts on sidewalks out there. There’s a bus stop out front of this doc’s office, but no way for a wheelchair to get into it. There is no shelter where I have to wait for the bus at this end of the trip, either. Bah, humbug….

Yes, I feel very whiny. I am worn down from a zillion little problems.

It was nice to have a warm February ๐Ÿ™‚ I would like to switch for summer. Let the east have record temps and the west have the coolness. We have snow in the forecast on Wednesday. It won’t amount to much. I hope it snows a lot up in the mountains. We need more moisture.

There are certain people who whine all the time, about every tidbit of their lives. Then there are others who minimize real pain and suffering and try to make everything sound great…when it isn’t. I fall somewhere between those two points, and must admit that already today, I have been annoyed by both camps. I looked up forced cheerfulness and found this study….

PEOPLE who smile a lot and say “have a nice day” are headed to an early grave while the grumpy stay fit.

Researchers at a German university – a land where surliness is an Olympic discipline -say enforced jolliness on the job is much more likely to make people fall ill.

They cite flight attendants, sales personnel, call centre operators, waiters and others in contact with the public for extended periods of time as being at risk of seriously harming their health.

Psychologists at Frankfurt University said the fake friendliness led to depression, stress and a lowering of the immune system itself, which in turn can trigger more serious ailments.

“Every time a person is forced to repress his true feelings there are negative consequences for his health,” said Professor Dieter Zapf, a researcher into human emotions.

Yes, this was Easter weekend, but I am not going to pretend I had a good time just to make someone else feel better about their good time or their fear of conflict or sorrow. Sometimes support groups are helpful, sometimes they are annoying! I liked this online article about forced cheerfulness ๐Ÿ™‚ I feel like I am an overall happy person who also goes through times of physical and mental pain.

Ha ha ha ha. I want to do the food stamp challenge!

Food Stamp Challenge Guidelines

Participation Guidelines

1. Each person should only spend a total of $31.50 on food and beverages during the week.

2. All food purchased and eaten during the Challenge week, including fast food and dining out, must be included in the total spending.

3. During the Challenge, only eat food that you purchase for the project. Do not eat food that you already own (this does not include spices and condiments).

4. Avoid accepting free food from friends, family, or at work, including at meetings or social events.

5. Keep track of receipts on food spending and take note of your experiences throughout the week.


Budget Breakdown

According to the U.S. Department of Agriculture, which is responsible for administering the Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP, formerly known as food stamps), the nationwide average monthly benefit in FY 2012 wasย $133.42ย which breaks down to approximately:

$31.50 a week

$4.50 a day

$1.50 a meal

It would be an improvement over my real life challenge. To go with this, you also have to shop by powerchair and only be able to buy from places you can get to by wheelchair or public transportation. Don’t forget….you are a senior, you don’t feel well and it’s hard to do just about everything….like shopping, cooking, breathing, moving, sitting upright, etc. Ahhhhhh ha ha ha ha ha ha. I want to see real people do this real challenge. And…it’s not fair to eat out at all. In my whole life, I have only been in one restaurant that took food stamps. That was in Oregon. Keep track of each meal and snack and have receipts for what you bought.

In a 31 day month, there are 4.43 weeks. That means $101 has to be divided by 4.43, which is $22.80 week. OR divide $101 by 31, which is $3.26 and multiply that by 7 days, which is $22.80 week. I rounded off a few decimals. $31.50/week would be great! ๐Ÿ™‚ In my challenge, you only get $22.80/week. Once you have done that for 3 meals a day for a week, multiply that by weeks and years and try to imagine your life. Could you do it?

I get tired of people who don’t have a clue thinking that I am a whiny wuss. Let’s see YOU do it!

