There’s a big RV between us and the building next door. It’s full of screaming children ๐Ÿ˜ฎ The big pine trees shelter tents and sleeping bags spread on the ground as far as you can see. Both sides of my street, at every available spot, are covered with people. Tents, tarps, unbrellas or just out in the open. It was an all night party. I shut the window, closed the blinds, turned on the A/C, turned on the CPAP and oxygen concentrator, and blocked most of the noise out. Sometime, in the middle of the night, someone lit off fireworks right under my bedroom window. I woke up for maybe 10 seconds and fell back asleep.

Vendors have been going up and down the street since yesterday. One popluar item is a black plastic long horn. Lots of horn blowing and screaming out there. I am glad this is only once a year. It seems like everybody smokes. The cigarette smoke comes in whether the window is open or closed. I wish I was more excited. Apparently I am just plain old and grouchy.

I slid my comfy chair across the room and parked my wheelchair in its place. Now I can watch some of the parade going by. I have the parade on TV. It’s actually more interesting on TV because they explain everything. I am trying not to get too hyper about the toddlers being allowed to sit on the second story parking garage railing….or the ones being dangled over the edge.

I wonder what the historical origin of gun flinging is? In front of the band marching by, there were lots of people twirling and flinging fake white guns. I like the float with bubble machines better ๐Ÿ™‚ And…what’s up with float after float of “beauty queens”. It’s no wonder Utah has such a high use of anti-depressants, body shaping plastic surgery and suicide. Most normal bodies don’t look like that….or look like that for long.

I think I am fun-impared when it comes to crowds. People irritate me, noise bugs me, smells make me sick. Sooooo many horns and sirens! People are loud and obnoxious. My head hurts. I am absolutely worse than ever after West Nile Virus. My brain does not like all the confusion. Sensory overload!

Oh, first a convoy of assorted armed services vehicles, and then a tank. Lots of showing of force out there. Several different groups of motorcycle cops doing tricks with lights and sirens blaring, military vehicles, fire department trucks, and float after float and car after car full of “important” people. Most of the “important” people are men and almost all their waving wives by their sides, are of the same cookie cutter size and shape. This all goes by, shocking and awing the peons on the side of the road, who are happy to waste their lives smoking and drinking, while whooping and hollering. Yup….not understanding this from my point of view.

I liked seeing pioneer carts, horses, Henry B Eyring, bubbles, the whale, marching bands and anything with little kids or old people. The rest? It makes little sense and gives me a headache. And I like colorful flag twirling better than the fake guns. Most of the parade made me wonder what it had to do with pioneers. It boggles the mind how much time and money went into the floats. How ironic that usually the space under the pine trees and around the bushes sprouts homeless people, instead of parade goers. A lot of expensive gaudiness when there are people in need all around us.

Ostentatious displays of wealth and power are way more important than dealing with reality. Feed them breadย and give them circuses!

The Etruscans of northern Italy originally held public games, (ludi), which featured such events as gladiator battles and chariot races, as a sacrifice to the gods.

The Romans continued the practice, holding games roughly 10 to 12 times in an average year. Paid for by the emperor, the games were used to keep the poor and unemployed entertained and occupied. The emperor hoped to distract the poor from their poverty in the hopes that they would not revolt.

Over time, the games became more spectacular and elaborate as emperors felt compelled to outdo the previous year’s competitons. The games involved more participants, occurred more frequently, and became more expensive and more outlandish. ย  ย  from:ย http://www.ushistory.org/civ/6e.asp

After the pioneer parade, head on over to the Jazz Energy stadium for ribs bbq and a rodeo…..or for the folks not rich enough to go in….ride the mini mechanical bulls out front….or if you are too poor for that…..watch it all and drool.

It was fun watching just how fast clean-up crews came through….picking up trash, leaf blowing dirt and crud, picking up and taking away the outhouses, traffic barriers, cones and signs. Within an hour, things were looking better ๐Ÿ™‚ What a relief to have everyone pack up and go home! That made me want to go out. I am losing the hydration war again. I started thinking about and craving chocolate milk. What’s weird is how cheap milk is here in the desert. It’s less than half the price of Vermont milk. I often see it on sale at 2 gallons for $3 or $4.

So…..in order to look at my world without the crowds and to get milk, I went to Smith’s. Today, milk was $2/gallon. I already made my own chocolate syrup last month. I took TRAX to get to Smith’s, then came home by power chair. One couple that I know, were by the mailboxes when I came through the door. The first thing they said was I looked awful….had I been out in the sun?

StillHotWendy

I went around the corner and took a pic in the hallway. Yup. I look like heck. Then I came in my super-cooled apartment, put away the milk, took off the hot clothes and put on my nightgown. I figured I would look better. Nope. I look like heck. I have the MG droop for eyes and mouth. Looks like my face is melting. I actually thought I was smiling! ๐Ÿ™‚ Sigh…..I need a nap! What I REALLY need is an IVIg!!!!!

