Heather and I were camping at Dripping Springs campground, near Temecula, CA, January 1994. One day, the whole day, I kept feeling like there was going to be an earthquake. I had that feeling dozens of times. Nobody else seemed alarmed. Then at 4:30 AM, on the 17th, I was sleeping on the ground and was woken up by the earth shaking and undulating underneath me. I went through a whole range of emothions….wow, coool, yikes!, is Heather OK, oh no!!!! Heather was asleep in the pick up truck. That’s the year we had a pick-up truck with just a cap. We had beds that slid on top of our stuff and we had a big Coleman tent. The truck’s tailgate and the cap’s hasp for the lock where rattling like crazy. Heather slept through the whole thing.

Dripping_Springs

That year I had a small, battery powered TV that was also a radio and flashlight. I dug it out and was horrified at what I was seeing 😮 I had always said that if I went to California, there was going to be a big earthquake. I watched and started to worry that Peter would be worried. Hours later, I made it to a pay phone. He didn’t even know there had been an earthquake. Geeze.

Anyway….last night I kept having that same feeling. I was sure we were going to have an earthquake. I repeatedly stopped what I was doing and listened or waited to feel something. I finally decided I was just crazy and went to bed. Early this morning there was an earthquake 50 miles from here. Coincidence?

Oooooooooooohhhhhhhhhh……I just got major goosebumps. While trying to find a news story about the Utah earthquake, I found one that says there were earthquakes in Arizona first. According to the USGS, the first hit around 9:00 p.m. last night, registering at 3.2 magnitude. The second reached 4.1 at 11:30 p.m.,  and the last came just minutes later, a 4 magnitude. In Utah, a 2.9 earthquake hit at 5:34 AM.

I am not sure what to think. Lord knows I am weirdly sensitive to things. Does the earth give off an aura like a person about to get a migraine?

I spent the first 4 hours of my day visiting the bathroom. Then I decided I had better go shopping. Turns out the high today was 73 🙂 Low expected to be 50’s. Not bad at all! But….for the next 9 days, it’s going to be high in the 40’s and 50’s during the day, with 20’s to 30’s at night. And there’s that 4 letter word S N O W in the forecast.

Since today felt like the last hurrah, I took my camera with me and took pics of flowers and trees. They will soon be frozen. As a bonus for Olive, I happened to find a catnip plant while taking photos. I brought her home a sprig. She has been drunk ever since :-p

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I am grateful I was able to go out today, even if it wasn’t as long as I wanted. I very much enjoyed seeing the last of the flowers. Then I hurried home to my usual spot…the bathroom. Sigh….

Perfect

P1020861

grouping

