I did some research. The way the fake chicken is made is utterly and totally disgusting 😦 Chicken is both mechanically and chemically treated, more chemicals are added, ammonia kills the bacteria and then flavorings try to cover up all the manipulation. It gets a lot worse. I don’t want to think about it 😦

Then I looked up beef and pork rib patties. I could not find info for any patty with both beef and pork, but there were plenty of examples of single meat patties. They are made with added Textured Soy Protein to bring down the cost.

Ground Beef (Not More Than 20% Fat), Water, Textured Soy Protein Concentrate, Contains 2% Or Less Of Salt, Sugar, Brown Sugar, Sodium Phosphate, Dehydrated Tomato, Dextrose, Spices, Sodium Diacetate, Yeast Extract, Flavorings, Disodium Inosinate And Disodium Guanylate, Citric Acid, Maltodextrin, Natural Smoke Flavor. Sauced With: BBQ Sauce (Water, Tomato Paste, Sugar, Honey Powder (Refinery Syrup, Honey), Distilled Vinegar, Molasses, Mustard (Distilled Vinegar And Water, Mustard Seed, Salt, Turmeric, Paprika, Spice, Garlic Powder), Worcestershire Sauce (Water, Vinegar, Salt, Sugar, Caramel Color {Contains Sulfites}, Malic Acid, Molasses, Citric Acid, Onion And Garlic, Food Gums {Arabic, Xanthan, Guar, Cellulose}, Dextrose, Spices, Chili Pepper, Spice Extractives, And Smoke Flavor), Smoke Flavor (Maltodextrin Powder, Natural Hickory Smoke Flavor, Silicon Dioxide), Modified Corn Starch, Caramel Color, Onion Powder, Spices, Sodium Benzoate, Xanthan Gum, Lemon Juice Powder (Corn Syrup Solids, Lemon Juice, Lemon Oil)).

sausagebloat

Of course that made me wonder about the smoked sausage I had. So far only the beef meal had real hunks of meat. I am pretty sure it was canned, and fairly sure it was real. So of 4 meals, 3 have contained meat that was altered and processed and the 4th is iffy.

frankenfoods

Here I go again, being ungrateful. I realize that nowadays school kids are subject to this crap on a daily basis. My kid dropped out of public school in second grade….she did not have to eat frankenfood. I did go a little crazy with doubled coupons and free questionable food, but I outgrew that. I wish I could just afford to buy basic ingredients and do my own thing!

Just now, I got up out of my chair to put on real clothes (restricting!) and to unlock the door. As I rinsed out my water cup, I was thinking about quality of food. I use a Brita filter to take the chemicals out of my water. I wash dishes with Mrs. Meyer’s Clean Day Lemon Verbena Dish Soap. I clean the countertops and floor with 7th Generation All Purpose Cleaner. I wash my hair with Avalon Organics Lemon Shampoo. I brush my teeth with Tom’s of Maine Whole Care Cinnamon Clove Toothpaste. And now I am eating crap for lunch 😦 It does not fit into my world view or ethics or self-care. I spent all those years as an organic farmer and look what I am reduced to.

Wedturk

Noooooooooooooo!!!!!!!! Another tepid lunch. This time I nuked it for 2:22. Almost immediately, a horrible smell started coming from the microwave 😦 I forgot that even turkey can be adulterated. The menu says: roast turkey with gravy, whipped potatoes, mixed vegetables, chocolate chip cookie. Now I see the difference between Lyonnaise and mashed potatoes….today’s mashed are even more tasteless and made from powdered potatoes. The “turkey” is yet another processed frankenfood in slab form. The cookie is like any dry, crisp cookie from a package….but with some weird flavorings not found in a home kitchen.

chchcookie

That makes my mind up. When the caseworker comes to interview me, I am going to quit getting Meals on Wheels. I would rather be hungry than to eat this crap. My whole apartment smells like a combo of piss, stinky feet and chemicals…from heating that noxious, repugnant, repulsive “turkey”. What the heck did they put in it??????? Ugh….vile, nasty, disgusting and distasteful!

If I am going to kill myself with processed meat, it’s going to be tasty….and it’s going to be BACON! 🙂

