MonLun

There was a knock on my door at 11:47. It was Meals on Wheels. Today’s woman was nice…but still in a hurry to get in and get out. She left the food on the kitchen counter and ran. I got up to check it out. Stone cold. It must have been refrigerated? I put it in the microwave for 2:22.

The food looked better than usual, but it tasted yucky. The menu said I was eating beef Swiss style patty, parslied potatoes, Brussels sprouts with cheese sauce and golden fruit cup. What do they put in that fake meat? The overriding smell is that of strong cow urine. I was excited about the Brussels sprouts, but they were nasty, too….kind of like eating sulfur balls rolled in liquid plastic. I tasted no real food flavors. The potatoes were the same half mashed, half chunk as last week, when they were labeled Lyonnaise :-p No salt, no potato flavor. They tasted industrial. The best part of the meal was the canned fruit and the carton of milk.

While I was eating, the caseworker for Meals on Wheels called. She will be here Wednesday to talk to me. I don’t think she understood much of what I said on the phone. I have had this broken voice for more than a year and a half now! Sigh…. Geeze, Wednesday is going to be busy. Doctor appointment, hurry home to get MoW, then the caseworker. I hope there is a way to politely say the meals are awful. Good thing it’s not today. I feel like smacking someone!

Not sure why I am so angry. It’s a combo of not enough sleep, feeling infringed upon, frustrated at my circumstances and mad about all my disabilities piling up. Mostly I am angry about being in Utah 😦

I did better at food costs today. Breakfast was a mango for 50 cents. Lunch was Meals on Wheels for free. Supper was a sweet corn tamale $1.25, salsa verde .25, sour cream .20, Roma tomato .26 and an avocado .75 for a total of $2.71. So supper was 2 cents less than my daily SNAP allotment for 3 meals.

sweetcorntamale

And look who was very interested in the sour cream. Hmmmmmm……keep those paws where they belong.

OliveWantingSourCream

As I was plating my supper, there was a knock on the door. It was the new mail lady leaving me a box. Yes! You will never find anyone more excited than me to get Miralax 🙂 I also got 6 little spatulas. I love those things! When the kind person ordered them, I had two left. By the time the new spatulas got here, I had one left. I use those things several times a day.

For Christmas and my birthday, I discouraged people from buying me things. I thought I was going to move away from Utah. Well, I wasn’t paying attention to what I was going to need next. Suddenly I was running out of several staples of our lives. I am grateful for those folks who kept haunting my wish list and decided to help me out. Thank you 🙂

Thank you to anyone, everywhere, any time, any year who have sent us goodies. There’s no way I could afford these things without help.

A mountain! The air was pretty good today. And we had a high of 37. As usual, when there is not a storm here, the air is expected to get worse and worse until next weekend, when we will have more rain and snow.

I am back to having one of my perennial problems. I am dehydrated. I have been sweating day and night with these fevers. Even though I drank 2 pitchers of water today, I still have dark pee. Tonight I drank a quart of chocolate milk. Really….that seems to be the only thing that helps. I am worn out from all the inevitable trips to the bathroom while watching Batchelor. It would be nice not to have a dehydration headache tomorrow.

I am soooooo tired of this back and forth fever and chills. I don’t stay a comfortable temperature for very long. I am very hot or very cold.

