The reality of my life right now is annoying. I can smell disgusting garbage and I only slept 3 hours last night. I just can’t breathe while lying down without antihistamines. Then there’s the hernia and MG weakness. I would rather focus on something else. So I am into dreaming about my ideal van.

100 watt flexible solar panel

I can’t stop thinking about solar. One of the hardest things about living in a vehicle is access to power. It’s needed to charge a phone, my chromebook, the wheelchair and a house battery or batteries. I have to run my CPAP machine. Lord only knows what to do about oxygen. I need an address to get a concentrator. I sure miss the liquid oxygen! ย And I have insulin, so it has to be kept cold, along with fresh food. While on the road, one of my limiting factors for how long I can sit still and camp is ice. Even with the so called Xtreme coolers, I usually need ice a couple of times a week. I wish money wasn’t an issue. As long as I am dreaming, I am going to pretend it isn’t. I’ll take 3 or 4 of the 100 watt flexible panels. They are less than $200 each, but the other components needed quickly add up fast…like storage batteries, an inverter, a charge controller, etc.

With the solar panels I would like a $500 to $800 Whynter fridge/freezer ๐Ÿ™‚

The most important add-on is aย Remote Control Vent from Fan-Tastic. It can pull air in or push it out, has an automatic thermostat and a rain sensor. Important for my breathing and the safety of Olive. This keeps the inside temperature of the vehicle from getting excessively hot. It also works as a kitchen vent ๐Ÿ™‚ I had a more primitive version in the past. What a huge difference these fans make!

I would really like one of these things. That way I could use a heavy duty extension cord to get power to the van, without running a cord through the window. Less than $20 ๐Ÿ™‚ I only need one outlet receptacle on the inside.

Every camping vehicle needs reflectix. It’s the best stuff to put in each window when it’s time to block out sun or hold in heat.

These are fantastic for covering up van windshields. And this one is even niftier! Love those see-through window openings that can also be blocked.

Even though it was fun to dream, it started making me even more depressed. It costs money to buy a van, fix up and outfit a van, pay for insurance and registration, do maintenance and repairs, buy gas, stay in campgrounds, etc, etc. Makes me wonder how I ever got by all those years. A big part of the answer to that is even though I was low income, I was not destitute. But each year since the 70’s, my money has bought less and less. My income has not keept up with the true cost of living….not even close. I am living at 74% of poverty level. Must be nice to be at poverty level ๐Ÿ™‚ About 14% of US citizens live at 100% of poverty or below. Did you know that the poverty level threshold is based on three times the cost of a minimum food diet in 1963? Interesting and convoluted stuff.

I think one of the best lessons from the last few years has been how to spend hardly any money except for rent and food. I know how little I can get by on. I also know it’s not much fun. Most of my clothes are approaching rag status and I need new shoes. You know my struggles with acquiring decent food.

My ex laundry lady showed up today to see if I am still alive. She says the manager asked her to check up on me. The last time I saw her was on the 11th, when she helped push my wheelchair back to my apartment. She was shocked and horrified at how much bigger my hernia has gotten between then and now. Me, too!ย  I wish I had asked if she would take out my garbage, but there wasn’t a good time to beg.

When the ex laundry ladyย got here, my voice was barely decipherable. After maybe 15 minutes, I felt my left eyelid zoom upwards and whatever it is in my throat got back in the right place. Even though she knows me fairly well, that freaked her out. Yes….my body changes quite a bit minute to minute, day to day and week to week. It’s always freaking me out!

I hope I can sleep more tonight. I cannot believe I have been awake 21 of the last 24 hours ๐Ÿ˜ฎ That’s not helping how I feel. Monday I need to do battle with the doc, insurance and the wheelchair company. The guy from church won’t be stopping for the nut until after work tomorrow. The weather forecast is for cold and rain. Not going anywhere, anyways. Sigh….I just know I am going to be a mental and physical wreck by this time tomorrow.

