Olive woke me up at 5 AM. Felt like I was very far away. I had a heck of a time coming to consciousness. I immediately fell back asleep. Olive redoubled her efforts to wake me. When I sat up, I was all tremory and shaky. It was time for meds. Instead of pouring my usual water, I guiltily made chocolate milk. I was craving it. My legs collapsed a few times. Got to my chair and my heart was going nuts….all quivery and racing.

After I took my meds, I felt impressed to take my blood sugar. Hmmmmmm…..after drinking chocolate milk, it was only 73. What had it been before??? By now my heart quivering was intense and both arms got all numb and tingly. This was the first time I ever got low blood sugar like this, and the first time in my sleep. Dang! That’s scary!

servicecat

Olive is sitting on the arm of my chair…pressed up tight against me.

An hour later and my blood sugar is 158. In the middle would have been better! At least my heart calmed down. I need to go back to bed.

I slept a few more hours and then my blood sugar was 134. Look what I found out: Plaquenil…This medicine can sometimes cause low blood sugar (hypoglycaemia). Symptoms may include cold sweats, cool pale skin, tremor, anxious feeling, unusual tiredness or weakness, confusion, difficulty concentrating, hunger, blurred vision, headache, nausea and palpitations. If you experience symptoms like this while taking hydroxychloroquine you should consult your doctor. Your blood sugar level may need to be tested.

It was a busy day in my apartment. The maintenance man put a new garbage disposal in, fixed my closet door and put up my curtain rod. While he was in and out, the Relief Society president came to visit and then later, my shrink was here for an hour. I can go days and weeks with no visitors and then they all show up in one day!

My voice was like yesterday. It worked off and on for reasons I have no clue about. Sometimes I was all numb and my throat was spasming, sometimes I was fine. At least it wasn’t boring!

I was restless tonight. I whiled away the day doing what other people wanted me to do. I took off and went to Rancho Market. I spent a whopping $11.55…..most of it on cherries, since a bag was $5.60. I also got 6 avocados for $2.67, 3 ears of corn $1, 6 white onions .79, 4 Roma tomatoes .62 and 2 Mexican squash for .53. Coming home on TRAX was bittersweet. I love going shopping in the evening during summer. It feels like an adventure and fewer people are shopping during supper/TV time. It was bittersweet because starting June 1st, I will have very little money to spend. Sigh….

I am working on being grateful that I am not homeless. I never want to be homeless again. Such a fine line between having a home….and NOT when you have $733/month to live on….and the rent is $550/month of that.

dont-feed

