goodgirl

I woke up to an email from Heather, with this article. Yes, I can identify!!! I think of all the times I had to insist on medical care when no one cared at all. The one that makes me cry in frustration and ultimately triumph is after my hysterectomy. First off, no one would do wound care. Here I was with a great big hole in my belly that needed the dressing changed each day…and no one would do it. I was beyond confused and furious! So I finally get home health, I call to be seen ASAP and the ditzy nurse assures me nothing is wrong with my incision. I kept trying to find someone who would care. Nada.

As I am giving myself a shot of blood thinner in the belly, blood starts shooting out of me. I call 911. They take me to the ER, where it’s decided I am not an emergency and try to send me home. They went so far as to call a medical transport company to fetch me! I said NO! I am NOT leaving this hospital! I was raging mad. After lots of argument, they send me back to Huntsman cancer hospital and stick me in a room overnight, with no care. The next morning a gaggle of docs and medical students file in, talk about me and decide I’m fine to go home. I said NO!!! The last person out the door turns around, comes back and looks at my incision again. She removes a staple or two and the next thing I know, I am in emergency surgery.

They had to cut out a good deal of infected tissue…then somehow put me back together. OMG! Pulling my skin and fascia from every direction to close the wound left me with no creases at the top of my legs to bend. It was wicked, wicked painful to move. I endured that for a few days. Then a doc comes in, decides maybe something really is wrong again, gets the wound care nurse who starts taking out staples, and bam…..the poor woman goes running out of the room screaming “she just opened up like a fillet”. The wound dehisced…opened right up so there was a big hole in my belly. I then had to wear a wound vac for 4 months to help it heal shut.

What if I had not stuck up for myself over and over and over again? I would have been dead a long time ago. It’s easiest for me to stick up for myself when the problem is something that can be seen. I have often repeated the story about my appendix bursting, an 10 or 11 day stay at famous Dartmouth-Hitchcock, where they decided I did not have a medical, but a mental problem…sent in the shrinks, then sent me home. I hitchhiked to a Vermont country doc that I knew saw patients for $15, he poked my belly a few times and declared I needed my appendix out. I hitched 30 more miles to the hospital and the surgeon said he would not operate unless I had insurance. I hitched to the welfare office and applied for Medicaid. I was denied. The surgeon had a smidgen of conscience…or maybe he just wanted to make $$ on an operation. He sent me to a lawyer friend of his who appealed the Medicaid denial. Finally he went ahead and operated, without me having insurance because I was so sick and spiking fevers the whole time. I had been having diarrhea 20 or 30 times a day while doing all that hitching, too!

So the surgeon opens me up to find my appendix had been burst for quite a while. My whole insides were full of peritonitis. They were amazed I could live through that. When I got out of the hospital, I felt a zillion times better. I split 4 full cords of wood in 2 days. The surgeon about fainted when he found out. He HAD told me I could do as much as I was comfortable with 🙂

I had an appointment with my 4th hernia surgeon today. He was awfully young! He and his med student said the actual operation wasn’t the problem…I am. They said I have way too many pre-existing conditions. So now I have a 0% chance of success, 10%, 20% and 21%. No one will touch me. He went over the things I should watch for that might signal my demise. He was very, very uncomfortable having that conversation with me. Then he quickly fled. I felt bad for him. I stayed upbeat until he had gone. Then the tears started leaking out.

They had told me I should try the new quick care next door to the ER. I dutifully waited in line, then told the triage guy about my blood sugar. He said that was too complicated for them and I had to go to the ER. My turn to flee. While waiting for TRAX and trying to turn off the leaks in my eyes, a guy came over and introduced himself. In the old days people like him were called “slow”. Now I think the right label is developmentally disabled. Our short conversation greatly cheered me up 🙂 Folks like that are far superior to those considered “normal”. There is no pretense, no BS, no hidden agendas. What you see is what you get. He was delightful 🙂

When I woke up at 4 AM for meds, I ate 2 prunes as a chaser. Necessary when taking 6 quick dissolving steroid pills. Bitter! My blood sugar was 112. I went back to bed and slept a few more hours. When I woke up my blood sugar was 202 😮 I didn’t know what to do. Should I shoot up Lantus? Eat? Not eat? I just didn’t eat and went to my appointment. I had no idea what to expect when I got back home. I was 147. I made a scrambled egg with sausage and veggie breakfast. 2 hours later, I was 131. An hour after that and I’m 106. At 7:30 PM it’s 92. Hmmmm….

I sooooooo don’t know what to think or do. I’m glad I have not shot up any Lantus. I realized that when my blood sugar goes the highest each day, is after I take steroids. Then it drops. From the moment I was told I was diabetic, I thought it must be autoimmune related….everything else wrong with me is. I was told no…only type 1 is autoimmune. As far as I know, none of my relatives on either side were diabetics. This whole diabetes thing is still a mystery. I don’t know why I expected that disease to be typical if nothing else wrong with me is.

My computer says it’s still 100 degrees at 7:30 PM. It was brutal coming home from TRAX at 101 degrees. The darn festival still had sidewalks fenced off today, so I could not get on or off TRAX at the library station. I had to use courthouse. There are longer stretches of open terrain with no shade. I could feel the sun drilling into my skin. Not a cloud in the sky.

Pollen_Count

Oohhhh…when I woke up for real this morning, I was totally snot-lockered from allergies. I thought maybe it was the usual pollen and mold. But…I got better while gone and worse when I got home. I opened the A/C cabinet to find mold growing rampant in there. I’m feeling pretty darn miserable from that. My nose is dripping like a very leaky faucet. Some time this evening, I will get dressed, get my mail and fill out a maintenance request form. Why does there always have to be one health mess after another??? Grrrrrrr……

OK…I went out and amazingly, Joe was still at work. I gave him paperwork asking to have stuff fixed and he promised to work on it Tuesday. He also told me to go ahead and run the A/C with my windows wide open to clear out the mold. Yes!

711

There was an amber alert on TV. I watched, then looked at it online. I tried to memorize the kids. I am soooo hopeless with faces! Then I thought what are the odds of me ever seeing kids taken in Kaysville, which is about 23 miles away. I hardly ever go anywhere. Well….I was sitting under a tree outside, trying to get non-moldy air to breathe when TV trucks and cops came from all directions and showed up at the 7-11 on my block. The mother and her kids were there. Freaky! Google says it’s 443 feet away…but it’s about half that by sidewalk. Wow.

When my blood sugar got down to 90, I figured I had better eat. I nuked a plate of frozen stir fry veggies, then nuked it again with some of yesterday’s brown jasmine rice and some peanut butter-coconut milk sauce. I sure am reluctant to eat nowadays.

Oh, oh. Just got an email alert for bad air. It’s our first mandatory restriction day of the season. As if I am not having enough lung problems.

SALT LAKE County: Air Quality Condition: Unhealthy for Sensitive Groups, Ozone Action Forecast: MANDATORY  Health Advisory: Sensitive people (those with respiratory or heart disease, the elderly, and children) should reduce prolonged or heavy exertion outdoors. . ‘MANDATORY Air Quality Action’ means individuals are asked to reduce vehicle use by consolidating trips and driving, or by using mass transit.

fantasize

