Whew! I made it there and home. The doc’s practice is called the Gut Whisperer. He definitely deserves the title. He’s one of the most interesting docs I have ever seen. He has at least half a dozen MG patients, which by itself is noteworthy. Before seeing him I had to fill out at least a dozen pieces of paper. He read out loud when he got to the part about all my diseases and operations.

We bantered back and forth about stuff and he stopped, looked deep into my eyes and said I was a remarkable person. He said there wasn’t a trace of oh, poor me or bitterness in my personality. I didn’t know whether to blush, thank him or argue πŸ˜›Β  He laid it on thick. Then he described some of his sad and mad patients. I told him after watching my father’s anger, I did not want to grow up to be perpetually pissed off. I have my moments, but it’s more like a quick storm. It was weird that he made that the centerpiece of our visit. Maybe he likes to add positive reinforcement to make people’s guts heal.

He then rattled off exactly how I feel and what happens to my guts. That was amazing! I figure he has been a doc for a while and understands gut distress. Cool πŸ™‚ Then he said the first thing he wants to do is give me an expensive medicine. I’m supposed to take it for 2 weeks and see him in 4 weeks. I looked it up. The dose he prescribed costsΒ $1713! Wow! It’s calledΒ XIFAXAN (rifaximin). My next favorite thing about the guy was his face when he found out insurance will not pay for maintenance IVIgs. He was disgusted and said they were stupid πŸ™‚ Other than that, he was all sweetness and light.

I am still all shaky and tremoring from last night. I thought I was getting better, but it just keeps happening. My blood sugar is 130, which is acceptable. Must be my body is skittish after last night. My brain sure is! That was one of the scariest things that has ever happened to me. I was aware of what was happening and felt little power over my blood sugar plummeting. I wasn’t so sure I was going to be able to make and eat a pb&j sandwich. It was hard to think and hard to do anything. I can for sure see why insulin dependent diabetics keep glucagon and other things close at hand to deal with sudden, unexpected lows. I’m thinking maybe I should get some shelf-stable boxed chocolate milk.

I have a couple more appointments today, but wanted to post this for now. As long as nothing else weird happens, I will write more later. I have pics!

 

 

 

