Days morph into nights into days. I get confused. I have two ways I take pills….the morning pill box full of quite a few, then from separate bottles every 6 hours after that. I must have not taken my pillbox pills again. I wondered why my blood sugar was so easy to control yesterday! I didn’t need much insulin and my highest reading of the day was 176…right after eating the free hot dog, bun and potato salad at Trader Joe’s. On a usual day that would have me over 300 if I did not shoot up insulin.

This again brings into focus how stupid it is to have me taking steroids instead of getting IVIg. But….my life is not very valuable in Utah. There’s money to be made all around thanks to pharmaceuticals and durable medical equipment. Sigh…..

judge

For more than a week now, I have had a talk by Dieter Uchtdorf on my mind. The Merciful Obtain Mercy. I have a front seat to the mind of a very conflicted man. As usual, other people’s problems help me figure myself out. The following snippets are part of the talk. If you click on the link you can read it or watch the video or just listen. I highly recommend the whole talk.

I, the Lord, will forgive whom I will forgive, but then He said…of you it is required to forgive all men. 

When the Lord requires that we forgive all men, that includes forgiving ourselves. Sometimes, of all the people in the world, the one who is the hardest to forgive—as well as perhaps the one who is most in need of our forgiveness—is the person looking back at us in the mirror.

This topic of judging others could actually be taught in a two-word sermon. When it comes to hating, gossiping, ignoring, ridiculing, holding grudges, or wanting to cause harm, please apply the following:

Stop it!

When our hearts are filled with the love of God, something good and pure happens to us. We “keep his commandments: and his commandments are not grievous. For whatsoever is born of God overcometh the world.

As always, Christ is our exemplar. In His teachings as in His life, He showed us the way. He forgave the wicked, the vulgar, and those who sought to hurt and to do Him harm.

The people around us are not perfect. People do things that annoy, disappoint, and anger. In this mortal life it will always be that way.

Nevertheless, we must let go of our grievances. Part of the purpose of mortality is to learn how to let go of such things. That is the Lord’s way.

Lay your burden at the Savior’s feet. Let go of judgment. Allow Christ’s Atonement to change and heal your heart. Love one another. Forgive one another.

The merciful will obtain mercy.

Of all the things people most need to understand about being happy and peaceful, this talk nails it. The whole country needs to take this to heart. Whether we are talking about dealing with friends and family, top news stories, politics, office talk, church….or whatever….following this advice would go a long way towards making life a lot more pleasant.

We all have our own temptations and triggers. What annoys one person may not even be on my radar. What I struggle mightily with is a non-issue for others. It takes all kinds to make the world go around. That’s a good thing 🙂

Here’s a great quote by Joseph Campbell….If you can see your path laid out in front of you step by step, you know it’s not your path. Your own path you make with every step you take. That’s why it’s your path. Read 10 more of his quotes here. I used to own Joseph Campbell books. I’m glad I read them when I was younger 🙂

lions

Hmmmmmm…..I wondered why I did not feel torn asunder yesterday. Today I can feel the steroids, high blood sugar and insulin duking it out in me. I am physically and emotionally feeling pulled in all directions. A ceasefire would be nice! I love and hate pharmaceuticals. In Europe, myasthenia gravis is called the ragdoll disease. Yup, that’s me.

rag

I felt sort of OK for maybe 15 minutes between 5 and 6 PM, then…worse than before. It’s 75 degrees outside and I am burning up more than usual. Too many things are fighting for control of my body.

old

