This was the first time I saw the endocrinologist after a full month on the insulin pump. I went from an 8.4 a1c to 6.6. Next time should be even better. The doc was impressed. Yay, me!!!

There was very thick frost on all the cars parked near my windows this morning. Brrrrrr!!!!! I decided maybe it was a good time to take Heather up on her offer of a ride to the endo’s office. It was too cold! ๐Ÿ˜› My experience of going to that hospital is taking a very long TRAX ride to a desolate station, and then I have a ways to go uphill to get to the buildings. The sidewalks are not kept up and the road is sparsely traveled. It was very, very different to drive up in a honking big SUV from the main road where cars were speeding by. I did not recognize the hospital at all!

It was also strange to be going in the building with my walker instead of in my wheelchair. I felt like a giant! I was sooooo tall! Everything was all out of proportion as a standing person. I gained 5 pounds according to their scale. I seem to gain and lose the same 5 pounds on a regular basis. I’m pretty sure it is edema.

We came home on Bangerter Highway and North Temple. I really enjoyed seeing places I would never otherwise go ๐Ÿ™‚ We were only back for about an hour, when it was time for my shrink to come over. Heather and the kids piled back into the SUV and went to a couple of parks to play. Just as I was getting lonesome with nobody here, they came back. These pictures tell the story perfectly.

toothless-fletcher

First Fletcher came down the hall. He was happy to see me.

porter-arriving

Next came Porter after he had broken loose from his mother.

heather-and-desmond

Then there’s Heather and Desmond. She looks tired and shell-shocked from lack of sleep and waiting on 3 boys and playing in the park and changing diapers and driving us all around. Ahhhhh….if only we had the energy of kids! I hope they all snooze better tonight ๐Ÿ™‚

fletcher-and-glitter-pen glitter-glue-and-porter

The boys went for the craft suppliesย as soon as they got in the door.

calgon-take-me-away

While Fletcher is busy with crafts, Heather reminds me of the whole “Calgon take me away” commercials. She looks sooooo tired!

no-neck-with-porter porter-and-grandma

And oh, my gosh! I really have no neck! I never see me from this angle. I am the epitome of a steroid “moon face”. Luckily, the kids still love me ๐Ÿ™‚ See the purple thing in Porter’s hand? That’s his new smart watch.

porter-minion-lamp-watch

too-cute-porter

awwwww

Look! There’s Desmond ๐Ÿ™‚

heather-perkier

And here’s Heather looking a bit perkier. Yup….naps needed all around!

shell-shocked-olive

Olive just sat there for a long time…without moving or looking at anything. I think she was in shock after the whirlwind that came and went.

p1050676

Olive heard them coming back….and went into deeper shock ๐Ÿ˜›

