dont-worry

I had intended to go for a ride right after I published the post around 8 AM…..but my head kept falling to the left and trying to circle around. The swelling on the back of my head was really bugging me. Sooooo…..I did the smart thing for a change and went back to bed. I didn’t wake up until after noon. It’s kind of a blur, but I don’t remember being awake for long when there was a knock on the door. It was Hyper Helen. No matter how many times I ask her to quit worrying about me and quit trying to solve problems I don’t even have, she still gets obsessed. It’s one thing to have a friend, and a whole other thing to have a zoo keeper. Sigh….

Then there was a knock on the door. It was the Relief Society president. Helen had called her. After awhile, Helen left. I had way too much fun talking 🙂 Lately I have been making connections in my brain that make more sense of my life. Sometimes what gets said in conversations jogs my pea brain into connecting the dots on a whole lot of seemingly disparate happenings. Makes life interesting and primes me with questions for when I get to the other side. By the time I shut up, it was late afternoon. Time for an adventure.

ceviche

I got on TRAX and went to Rancho Market. There really was nothing I needed or even wanted….I just wanted to go there. I love Rancho 🙂 As a special treat, I bought myself something I haven’t had since Heather was 7 and we spent a month in Mexico. I got a container of fresh made ceviche de camaron….and I could taste it! Olive went nuts when I poured it in my fancy Chinese bowl. I must have shared half a dozen pieces of shrimp with her 🙂 She just kept coming back for more and tapping me on the shoulder.

On the way home, the train stopped for a really long time. Then there was an announcement that was hard to understand. I think the driver said something was broken. When we got to Courthouse station, there were firetrucks and an ambulance….with firefighters and UTA people all over the place. I have no idea what happened.

friend-is

When I got home, a bunch of people were sitting around outside. I stopped to talk to Gordon and Brian. Turns out that each one had also independently called the RS president about me being in tough shape. I know I haven’t exactly been in tip-top shape, but I didn’t realize how much my deterioration has been scaring folks. Both guys told me how much they like and love me. They said I am always so happy. It’s quite touching what is said at the end 🙂

On the flip side, there is a small contingent of people that are apparently grumbling to each other that there’s nothing wrong with me. It takes all kinds to make a world, I guess. I have heard the same my whole life, no matter how sick I was or how often I was hospitalized. Never ceases to make me shake my head in wonder. If it was up to me….I would have chosen to live a life without a shred of sickness or disability. I have some serious pondering to do about people who always think other people are scammers and liars. Takes one to know one, I guess. The reality is that the sick, poor and disabled are hated and shunned all too often. Nobody in their right mind would want to join the club.

vip

 

