barking-cough

I don’t think I slept even two hours. I woke up with a cough that made me sound like I was barking. Sometimes I could not breathe at all. It was a lot like when I had whooping cough. My belly area was solid…like a rock. Soon I was coughing up blood again. It took an hour to blow out and cough out crud. I took more cough syrup and used my albuterol inhaler. Then I had a series of coughs from the bottom of my lungs. Something popped in my eye. Then it felt like something big popped in my gut ๐Ÿ˜ฎ

Instantly, my hands turned to ice. I became wicked bad nauseous. I felt the grip of doom. Should I call an ambulance? My left breast hurts a heck of a lot. All-over trembling, quivering, vibrating started up. The lymph nodes in my left armpit swelled tight very quickly. I don’t know what to do or think. MG weakness then hit me. But….I can breathe a tad better, despite the weakness, because more air is flowing.

Dang! Now my left upper arm is very, very painful….and it’s swollen. What the heck? Now my core strength is draining away. OK…so I tested my blood sugar. 78! That means I have to eat or drink something. I don’t want to! I got up to find something to eat. There’s a big, hard lump under my left breast. Is it my spleen? What?

Soon I was sleepy. I put my head on the pillow and woke up 6 hours later. But of course I was back to coughing and choking. I hobbled in to the shower, sat on the chair and coughed up crud for a good half hour. Gosh….that’s the perfect solution! Sit there with my head over the drain and choke until there’s nothing left in my head or lungs, with the nice warm water to keep washing it all away. Gross, huh? Think of all the tissues I saved! But I wasn’t so sure I would be able to get up again. I cannot count how many times the bathroom grab bars have saved me. Thank goodness they are there.

I sat on the bed “forever” while theย trembling, quivering, vibrating and muscle cramps subsided. No way could I make my bed. My arms did not want to cooperate. Somehow I put on enough clothes to be decent. I got an email saying the missionaries were going to come over to pick up my laundry. I asked if I could get help cleaning up the kid toys. Then I got antsy. I knew everything had to be sorted. I sat here in my chair and did what I could with my reacher stick. Then I got up to get bags and do the rest of the toys while standing.

toys-in-bags

Ohhhhhh, my gosh! I way overdid it. I pushed myself to the limit and then some. I got too weak to lift my arms and I was certainly too weak to walk. I had taken my twelve 4 mg Medrol pills because I ran low on 32 mg pills that I take 1 1/2 of. NASTY!!!!!!!!!! The little pills dissolve instantly. There was not enough water in my cup to wash it all down, People who have taken prednisone know how bitter that stuff is! So there I sit, too weak to go get water. I was never happier to see people come to my door ๐Ÿ™‚ Sister M got me water ๐Ÿ™‚ ย ๐Ÿ™‚ ย ๐Ÿ™‚ Brother M took my grocery list to Trader Joe’s and bravely searched for what I wanted. Sister M swept and swiffered. It was amazing how much dirt had collected under the toy pile. And even though Heather cleaned at some point of her visit, the place was dirty, dusty and had an amazing amount of cat hair. I am sooooooooooo grateful for the help ๐Ÿ™‚

listen

It was hard enough for me to drink water. My arms did not want to work. But even worse…each time I swallowed, it hurt like heck. It was as if there was no space to put water and air was pushing back. The longer I rest, the better I can do something….but only once. The explanation of that is antibodies flood the neuromuscular junction with exertion. Thanks to cold and rest, the antibodies dissipate. Then I can again do something once….and wait and wait and wait to get stronger. I know I must look stupidly helpless. I only get that bad when close to myasthenic crisis. Dang….I am close ๐Ÿ˜ฎ

While the missionaries were here, I never felt like I could take a full breath. By the time they left, I could no longer postpone a trip to the bathroom. Have you ever noticed that your best thinking happens when in the shower, on the toilet or just before sleep? I guess that’s because other thoughts are not crowding in. For many days now, I noticed that as soon as I pooped, I could breathe better. I idly wondered if the walk to the bathroom helped? Maybe the muscle tenseness let loose? It wasn’t deep thought….until this time. I realized that my lungs that had felt almost immovable were expanding and contracting just fine after going. I thought it had been purely weakness. But I figured it out! My hernia is so huge now that there is not enough room in my abdomen for things like pee, poop and air. Another one of those AHA! and DUH! moments. Seems obvious now.

I’m still trying to figure out what’s wrong with my intestines. Something bad is going on in there. My abdomen feels very hard, it’s quite painful, and it feels like there’s air stuck in there? I don’t know….but tonight it hurts like crazy. Is it diverticulitis? The next bathroom trip, when I thought I was going to go, I barfed, instead. Now I am having even worse gut pain ๐Ÿ˜ฆ Hopefully it is “just” a side effect of the antibiotic and not a whole new thing wrong. I only ate one meal today. Not wanting any more! I put 2 potato chips in my mouth and the whole lining of my mouth swelled up and became on fire! What the heck causes my burning mouth syndrome? It’s totally random. I had noticed that the inside of my lips were sore and bumpy the last couple of days, then bam!

Interestingly, the coughing has been light ever since my shower. It would be great if my lungs are on the mend ๐Ÿ™‚ The funniest thing is my voice. I sound like a teenage boy whose voice is changing.

weather

Soon after the missionaries left, snow started falling. Of course the weather forecast looks different each time I pull it up. The temperature is going up and up. It’s 16 at 7 PM. Better than 6 below zero this morning!

I keep dropping my water ๐Ÿ˜ฆ Pretty much everything is too heavy for me to pick up right now. I’m really hating MG. Not liking pneumonia too much, either!

fight

 

