melted-snow-ice

Olive woke me up at 2 AM. Geeze! Low blood sugar again. I sat up, pulled apart the curtains and was surprised to see a parking lot clear of ice and snow. That’s a very good thing. The lot was dangerous with mounds of snow between vehicles that had turned to slick, lumpy ice. It’s 46 degrees out there!

4-am-melt

I went outside to take pics

My upstairs neighbor must be on drugs again. When I fell asleep during the 10 PM news, she was dragging furniture too and fro. Once I woke up this time, she has been making all sorts of noise up there. It’s pretty obvious to hear the difference between normal life and a crazy person high on substances. I wish I had that much energy! Even worse….she is filling my apartment with cigarette smoke ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

As usual, I have been coughing and choking for hours. Yup…..I have been regularly using my inhaler and cough syrup…..but my lungs are still full of gunk. As the quantity goes down, it’s even harder to cough loose what’s left. When I was making soup yesterday, the effort had me struggling even harder to breathe. A couple of times my lungs rattled and then there was a sound like thhhhwwwooooop and a pop when thick gunk in my lungs broke lose and made it to my main airway to cough out. Such a gross feeling and sound ๐Ÿ˜ฎ It leaves me feeling profoundly weak. This seems like the worst lung infection I have ever had. It sure does resist getting better ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

bump prego-hernia

I went outside to take pics of the no snow and no ice. I wore my lounging clothes because it was 4:30 AM and I figured no one would see me. It was a shock for me to see how much larger the hernia has gotten ๐Ÿ˜ฎ

big hernia

My hernia sticks out a lot to the right, but not so much to the left. If I put my hand on the left side, I can squish it down. The right side is immovable. The new bad thing that is happening is that up high on the left is where new hernia growth is occurring. When I cough nowadays, that’s where ripping happens ๐Ÿ˜ฆ It hurts a heck of a lot. For maybe a couple of weeks now, the hernia has gotten so big that breathing is compromised unless I recline at an angle in my chair. Sitting straight up and down cuts off my ability to take much of a breath. The most difficult part is decreased mobility. The hugeness of the hernia makes it hard for me to get up from sitting or to twist around to reach things. The more I cough….the worse it gets. Sigh….

I went back to bed and slept until 8:30 AM, when Olive woke me up again. My blood sugar was 70. I don’t understand why this keeps happening. My best guess is the Cefdinir antibiotic is knocking out all my various infections. Thank goodness for Olive letting me know my blood sugar was low! I had a bowl of yesterday’s soup for breakfast ๐Ÿ™‚ Surprisingly my blood sugar has gone up very little with much less insulin pumped in to cover the soup.

Taking 4 mg of Bumex is getting rid of edema, but it sure as heck is debilitating. It takes a lot of strength to jump up every few minutes to pee. My lungs are noisier today than any other day before this. I believe the noise is called rales. All along, my lungs have rattled….but before it was a very wet rattle and bubbling. Now the rattling is drier sounding and more continuous. I am not able to cough out crud and stop the noise. Seems like there is also a lot more pressure in my chest ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

So far I have had human contact twice today. This morning I wondered if food boxes would be distributed this Wednesday or next. By looking down the hallway I thought I saw grocery carts, so put on clothes and went to check it out. Yup…2 old guys and Brian were in the community room. I had a hard time seeing, talking, breathing, etc. I was really out of it. Got a crummy food box. There was a loaf of stale bread, a dozen eggs, 2 boxes of milk, a can of applesauce, a can of pears, a can of mixed vegetables and 2 cans of tuna. I left on the free table….a brick of plastic cheese, a bag of powdered milk, 2 jugs grape juice, a bag of dried kidney beans, 2 boxes farina, a can of green beans, a can of spaghetti sauce and 2 pkgs of spaghetti. Such a waste of resources ๐Ÿ˜ฆ I’d rather have a crisp $5 bill…..or better yet….the worth of the food. I am sad now that I get the old geezer box instead of the younger senior box. It’s even less appetizing.

Imagine if we got good stuff….like bags of salad greens, avocados, fresh tomatoes, salad dressing and a jar of bacon jam ๐Ÿ™‚ Most people give back most of what they get. It’s a mystery to me who takes what’s on the free table. I have seen the Mexican cleaning folks, who don’t speak English, grab some. The rest just vanishes.

This afternoon, my phone rang. By the time I could get to it, I was too late….but could see it was from the door’s intercom. Luckily he came to my apartment anyways. It was the pharmacy delivery guy. Good timing. I had one test strip left and he brought a hundred more. It was all I could do to open the door. I had to quick lean on the counter. I could not talk well and I sure could not both breathe and talk without starting to faint.

It has been a very gray day. I never did see a speck of sun. I suppose that’s a good day to spend trudging to and from the bathroom. My guess is that I have peed away at least a gallon of fluid today. It is easier to breathe than this morning! Also…I think my left leg has developed a second ย leak…I’m just too confused to figure it out.

Soup for breakfast, soup for supper. Lunch was a lime mayo, bacon jam, roast beef, avocado and tomato sandwich. Eating was probably the highlight of my day. I wish I could take a vacation from pneumonia. Sooooo tired! At least I have stopped having fever/chills. But I am still having hours of soaking sweats. I spent the whole day with the window partly open and the fan on me. Temperatures were in the 40’s outside.

temps

Look! There is sun in the forecast! ๐Ÿ™‚ But….first we have to endure snow all night tonight and then most of tomorrow.

sun

 

