bleh

I woke up with a very swollen face, neck and trunk of my body. Yes, the arms and legs are still swollen, but this feels extra creepy. It’s hard to swallow water again. But you know what’s worst? My brain. Has the swelling everywhere done something to my mind? For lack of a better term….I’m feeling crazy ๐Ÿ˜ฆ I also feel quite nauseous.

As I read news and putter around the internet, something is wrong with my thinking. I’m not really smart enough to know what’s wrong….I just know something creepy is happening. My tongue feels fizzy. Tastes like some nasty chemical ๐Ÿ˜ฆ Sooooo queasy!

Pretty soon it was time to shower, get dressed and go wait out front. I took out garbage and recycling…and lucked out. Kent offered to open the dumpster enclosure and toss it in ๐Ÿ™‚ I don’t think I would have had enough strength. It didn’t take long before the paratransit bus was there to get me. I got another driver with a long white beard. He said he played Santa for Christmas ๐Ÿ™‚

Trent Nelson  |  The Salt Lake Tribune Smog trapped in an inversion layer over Salt Lake City, Tuesday, January 22, 2013.

Trent Nelson | The Salt Lake Tribune
Smog trapped in an inversion layer over Salt Lake City

OMG! I knew the air was bad….but I had no idea just how bad until we started going south, down the valley, on the interstate. Mountains were more of a suggestion than a thing. I was constantly squinting, trying to figure out if I was, in fact, seeing the Wasatch Mountains or clouds or what. Creepy. Then at some point, we turned toward theย Oquirrh Mountains. A few peaks poked out of the smog, but the mountains were barely visible. Incredibly disgusting air ๐Ÿ˜ฆ It’s not often I ride in a vehicle and even less often am I in a high vehicle on a high interstate bridge. It gave me a whole new perspective.

The roads were totally dry. The further we got from SLC, the less snow there was. It didn’t even look much like winter in West Jordan! We passed a couple of golf courses that were green, without a speck of snow. I got to my endocrinologist’s office 55 minutes early. Much to my surprise, I was taken right in. The endo thinks I am doing well at controlling my diabetes….especially because my steroid dose was raised since the last time she saw me. I’m not sure exactly what she did to my insulin pump, but she changed the background insulin dose to make up for the every afternoon spike when the steroids hit my system. Now I need to relearn my optimum doses. Never a dull moment with all my variables.

My BP was 150/77. Curiously, they weren’t worried….saying the bottom number was good, but the top was high thanks to pneumonia, swelling and pain. And as I knew would happen, my a1c went from 6.6 in October to 6.9 now, thanks to the increased dose of steroids. The endo also wrote me a new script for another meter. Mine has never worked correctly. I have to stick the strip in a bunch of times until it turns on. A new one will be great ๐Ÿ™‚ While the doc was pushing my leg to see how much it would pit, leg juice got all over her. Wish I had a pic of her face ๐Ÿ˜› She has no new ideas how to get the fluid off me ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

So I was done at the doc’s office before my originally scheduled appointment was even supposed to start. That meant a long wait for my paratransit ride home. I went outside and sat in the sun! Did you hear that??? Sun!!!!!!!! What a nice treat ๐Ÿ™‚ It wasn’t until I got on the bus that I realized a lot more of the mountains were visible. The driver this time was an ex-trucker. He scared the crap out of me! I did my darnedest to pay attention to anything but his driving. That’s when I started realizing that all the buds on all the trees were greening up. I sat mesmerized by all the greenness flying by ๐Ÿ™‚

bad-air

SLC bad air today

Then my next realization was the closer we got to SLC, the nastier the air and the more snow there was. Yuck! The mountains soon disappeared into the smog. Usually my whole world is what I can see from my chair…the lower hills northeast of downtown and a few buildings. I forget that a few miles or a different vantage point opens up a whole new world. Readย Living in inversion could mean a shorter life.

inversion

I live in the trapped pollution under the temperature inversion ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

ย Good news ๐Ÿ™‚ I have peed more today than the last several days put together. I hope that trend keeps up. I feel humongous. I am so swollen that my arms and legs can hardly bend. I feel like a big, bloated Barney.

bloated-barney

